Goodwill Gala, the power of work

I believe it was late January when my good friend and talented journalist Kathy Topp left her her job at KVBC-TV and took a position as the Director of Communications and Development at Southern Nevada Goodwill.

Kathy was a natural for PR, she knows how to tell a good story and she has a ton of media contacts. However, Kathy was weary of the event planning that fell under her title. She was especially concerned about planning the Goodwill of Southern Nevada Gala scheduled for September. I had no worries. Kathy is multitalented and I had no doubt she would pull off the best gala in Goodwill history.

Kathy asked me to chair the gala committee and I said yes with no reservations. The goal of any gala is to raise money for a worthy cause. Right now, Goodwill is one of the worthiest.

Their mission is to educate, train and employ people with disabilities and other special needs to help them maximize the quality of their life. With the state unemployment rate at more than 13 percent, we have a lot of work to do.

Kathy put together a great group of committee members which she asked me to chair. We all reached out to our contacts and put together a kickin live and silent auction.

I am proud to say my clients, iFocus and the Yoga Sanctuary, donated some items. Two Ed Hardy sunglasses, his and hers from Dr. Vivienne Valesco and iFocus Vision Center, and a five class yoga package from the Yoga Sanctuary. The gala was this past weekend and those items alone raised nearly $500 for the silent auction. I couldn’t be happier.

As I often say, it takes a village and so many PR colleagues and contacts from around the city coordinated and contributed. Thanks to all my contacts and friends that helped us make the Goodwill of Southern Nevada Annual Gala a success!!

I implore each of you to check out this video to learn about the power of work. It was produced by Kathy Topp and shot and edited by the talented Matt McColl of Five Stars Creative. I think you will find it truly moving.

The Power of Work.

2 Comments

Filed under A-List Newsroom

2 responses to “Goodwill Gala, the power of work

  1. Kathy

    Um, not sure how I ended up the topic of this latest blog. But loyal readers should know that AA was the driving force behind Goodwill of Southern Nevada’s silent & live auctions and served as a sounding board (quite a bit!) when it came to planning the actual event.

    The Gala was a great party that not only raised cash in this tight economy, but also raised awareness of Goodwill does and the people we serve. As we PR people know, that’s just as valuable.

    Thank you Alyssa. You are not only a great friend but incredible at what you do! I am so lucky to have you on my team!

Leave a Reply

