Are you nice, or is it just me?

So, yesterday I was talking to a Las Vegas journalist about local PR.

Somewhere along the way she asked a question that I had to think about, only because there are so many ways to look at it.

She said, “Have you noticed PR people are nicer lately?”

I needed clarity.¬†I said, “Well what exactly do you mean?”

She went on to explain that she had this discussion with a few other other journalists and the general consensus was that Las Vegas PR people have taken a kinder tone in the past few months.

She pressed me, ” Do you know why this may be?”

“I have some ideas,” I said.

I always try to be cordial, available and agreeable when working with a journalist. However, if she and others have noticed a change, I have some ideas as to why that may be the case.

First off, it is simple math. These days there are fewer journalists and media outlets to pitch. I think we can all agree upon that one. As PR people we are thankful for the friends and contacts we have that are still employed and doing good work. We are happy there is someone out there to receive our pitch. We are even more excited when this is a person that we know and trust.

These days everyone is doing a lot more with a lot less, especially those in media. So, as PR people it is important to be accommodating because if I am not, some other publicist will be and that other publicist will get the story.

More importantly, as PR people, I think we feel, we are all in this together. We have lost friends and colleagues (PR professionals and journalists) due to cut backs. I think we all sympathize with one another. I have seen talented journalists and PR friends loose their jobs and it sucks.

Being nice is a good thing so maybe in the long run all this drama has made us (PR people) better at our jobs.

As always, would love to hear your thoughts.

1 Comment

Filed under Life on the A-List

One response to “Are you nice, or is it just me?

  1. Pingback: Journalists share thoughts on publicists in a down economy « A-List Media LV’s Blog

Leave a Reply

